top of page
Search
  • Darrow Gershowitz

Using time differently in the age of COVID-19

Has COVID-19 changed the way you feel about time? Jolie tells us how it has changed her and the people around her.



Transcript:


Ah. Hi Jolie. So, uh. what’s on your mind?


Well, I’ve been thinking about the way that I have been using my time, during this period where we’ve been stuck inside a lot, differently from the way I thought about time and used time before, you know, we were in isolation like this. Um, the wonderful thing about time for me that has changed that I really liked while I’ve been stuck inside is that time now, there’s so much of it, and it feels so easy, and the people around me, the people, there’s not too many people around me, but the people that I’m calling and talking to, um, also, there’s a relaxed feeling to our conversations, like none of us are rushing off to go somewhere or do something else. We’re here, we’re stuck, we’re home. And it’s kind of lovely. I’ve kind of really enjoyed it. You know. So, that’s been really nice. I’ve loved it.


(My stupid attempt at a joke:)

Are you gonna write a little book about the benefits of the the epidemic?


I’ll tell you, you know, this crazy rat race that we’ve all been a part of, where time has a monetary component to it, where you charge by the hour for your time, you know, where everything is monetized that way, time especially, you know, is kind of sick! I think. And this is a much better way for me. It feels so much healthier for me to live this way. I’m much happier this way. You know, where I can, I feel like I have time to think about what I wanna do. You know. I have time to look through a cookbook now, and pick out a recipe, and plan the ingredients, and, you know, all of that. Whereas, you know, earlier in my life, I just really never took the time to do that. I didn’t allow myself the luxury of time. So, this has been really kind of a blessing in some ways, you know, and I’m trying to really see that silver lining in it.


OK. I will try to look at this thing more positively from now on. Thanks a lot.


(Sorry I cut the ending so abruptly…)

3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page