top of page
Search
  • Darrow Gershowitz

Steve C tells me why he collects Coleman lamps and stoves

The reason might surprise you...


Transcript:


“So Steve, why do you collect lamps?


Um, they represent uh so much history in our world. Um, even though Coleman is uh, uh, an American-based manufacturer, and eventually Canada, one of the primary things they always did and had was an export market. So they literally exported so many gas-pressured devices that ran on liquid fuel, i.e. white gas or kerosene, they exported them all over the world, um, the Middle East, uh, South America, uh, Asian countries, everywhere. And of course, you know, the Germans and the Swiss did the same type of thing, but uh Coleman really made a statement. They had several uh appliances that were specifically made for the military throughout World War Two all the way up into the Vietnam era. And uh they were made uh every type of thing from uh battlefield sterilization stove to a GI cook stove to uh a lamp that they could use at, in, wherever they were in the field. Um, so they, there’s, there’s a tremendous, uh, amount of different situations that Coleman saw the need for. Uh, there was always other manufacturers that fell by the waist side. And, you know, their, the stuff that they produced is actually very desirable as well. However Coleman became the mainstay for gas-pressured appliance, and they, they, they have uh you know, even for uh just regular uh rural living, they had table lamps, they had hanging chandeliers, uh they created wonderful beautiful artistic glass shades that would go on the lamps. Um, they continuously came up with other styles uh just to to to make them more appealing, you know. They were very beautiful, and, but they just they were quite genius with uh everything that they made. Um and obviously they uh refined manufacturing over the years and then then you know the later in production you got up until today, they they weren’t as good a quality. They still do the same type of thing. But the old stuff uh represents a huge part of world history um and there’s always a story that goes along with any given piece. Um, I have a countertop cook stove from the early thirties (1930’s) that I’m one of like four people in the world that has one, that’s known of. Um, and it’s very interesting. And and I don’t just collect them and look at them. I use everything I have. I I refurbish it. I make it work. And um I pick a time and uh you know some reason to take it out, set it up, and uh light it. I cook on the stoves. I will, I can, I’ll light several lanterns just to create an ambience around the yard or at my cabin or anywhere. And uh it’s very enjoyable. And the camaraderie with the other collectors around the country and the world uh is just amazing. You you make the best friends because you all share a common thread.


Excellent.


And it’s people from every walk of life. All the way from a person that has little means to do anything, but they found a lantern and made it work, all the way up to doctors, lawyers, policemen, everybody. And when I have my event here, we’re all one thing in common: we’re collectors. Everything else is irrelevant. And we share this bond and this passion for something that is just amazing. Uh, the evenings are just full of light. Uh we call it “Friendship Through The Light”. And we live it. Uh and uh it has been a great experience for the past twelve or fourteen years. It’s just been amazing, uh, the things that you’re exposed to. Um, you know, Coleman really hit it. And and I don’t think Coleman ever foresaw the future today’s time uh that people would actually start digging up all these old lanterns and finding them in old barns, estate sales, refurbishing, uh, creating collector groups, um. It kind of created a resurgence in vintage camping. It it’s like the cherry on the sundae. When you have a vintage Coleman in a campground. Um one of the biggest times for Coleman was right after the World War Two. Uh the GI’s came home to to their families and they wanted to see the country that they defended. They wanted to see this great vast land and so they hopped in the car with a Coleman lantern, a Coleman stove, a tent and some bedrolls. And they traveled the country with their family and camped. And it’s just such a cool, really really nice thing uh to be a part of, and and to revitalize. So that’s where I’m at with it, um. Fortunately for me I have a vast collection and uh…


How many? How many?


I have, well, I’m gonna say north of six hundred, and that’s not counting stoves. I probably have a hundred stoves.


A hundred stoves.


Oh yeah, I have I have a whole collection of stoves. But uh yeah it’s uh you know and it’s fun. I mean it you know you get a lot of satisfaction of talking an old cast iron pan, putting it on a Coleman cook stove, and making this wonderful breakfast. You know. Or using a smaller uh Coleman stove with a coffee pot. And making your morning coffee at a campground. There’s just something about that aroma, and all just the whole essence of the thing, it just, it’s the most peaceful nice thing you can do. Um it really, it gives you a lot of center. I mean you uh you kind of forget about the rest of the world for a while and just enjoy the most basic of things. So that’s where I’m at with it. It seems to fit my personality quite well.


I like it. Thanks, man."


10 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page