top of page
Search
  • Darrow Gershowitz

Jolie Tells Me About Getting the Covid-19 Vaccine In the U.S. on 2/08/21

Transcript:

“Interesting, there’s a very very brand new hospital, which is actually where I had my surgery earlier in the year, and, um, it’s called the Perelman Center. State of the art. Very very modern. And um it’s part of my healthcare system, the Penn, PennCare, and um oh oh darn it. Sorry about that. My phone’s running out. Just a minute. I’m plugging it in. OK. Oh, anyway, when, they contacted me, and they said, ‘You can have a-‘, pretty much any time, I was like all day, appointments were open, for Monday, February eighth, which was my birthday. So I grabbed the first appointment available, and um and we drove over there. Of course there’s no visitors allowed in. You go in by yourself. There’s a big sign at the front door. You cannot bring anybody with you. You go in and um you and it’s a matter of wai-, kind of waiting on lines inside for a while. Um, the whole experience took maybe an hour and a half. Um, so, not terrible, not terrible. Um, but you’re kind of shifted. Um, you go onto one line where they, you know, check your insurance and all of that. The next line, they ask you, um, you sit down with a counselor and you talk about what your allergies are. And how serious they have ever been. ‘Have you ever needed an EpiPen, um, you know, or had like a terrible reaction to something?’ They want to know. Um, I have not had any of those situations, so I was able to um wait and then go into a very tiny little booth, they, where they, they set up like you know twenty-five of them or whatever, kind of makeshift in this large room in this hospital. And you go and there’s two people there, and I guess it’s a nurse and one person on the computer who’s you know again taking down your information. For like now like the third or fourth time. And what’s nice about it is the shot itself um you know it’s like a flu shot. You feel it. You feel it go into your arm. Um and but luckily for me I’ve had, the only symptom I’ve had is soreness in this arm. That’s it. So the second day I had a lot of soreness. I couldn’t even like use it to fold laundry or anything like that.


Wow! That’s a lot of soreness. That’s not a little bit.


Yeah, it was a lot of soreness. It was, it was uh, I couldn’t really lift it up without being some pain, being in some pain.


All right. That’s more than a flu shot soreness.


No. That-I’m saying it was like a flu shot going in, but the, but the next day it was very sore. Um, and then af-, and then that was it. That was the only side effect.


No other side effects? No headaches? No dizziness? No nausea? No loss of appetite? Nothing?


No. Nothing. No. No. Nothing.


OK. All right. And then you have to go back for a second…shot? When.


Yes. The lovely thing is that they, they’re going to um schedule that for me. I mean they’ve already scheduled it. They schedule it right there when you get the first one. You pick a date. They tell you what the available dates are and you pick a date and time then. So that’s March-


But when are you going in? When is that?


March first. March first.


March first. So that’s about almost three weeks after. OK.


Three weeks. Three weeks.


OK. All right.”




4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page