top of page
Search
  • Darrow Gershowitz

Eliot tells a story of "you win some, you lose some"

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

Eliot tells us how he felt his brother missed a great opportunity to bargain with a rug salesman, only to have a clothing salesman undercharge him the following day, and how all this holds an eternal life lesson.

Transcript: Anyway, he went to like a, he went to like a nice area of Helsinki to look for a rug, and he goes into this shop, and uh you know I can tell they get “What are you looking for?” he says, “Well, I’m looking for a rug. I’m at a rug shop. What do you think I’m looking for?” And he says, “These are the dimensions I need.” “Whatever they are.” You know, very specific dimensions. They’re like … and he’s like, “Oh, those are kind of odd. You know, those aren’t like very uh normal dimensions for a rug.” He says, “Yeah, but that’s what I’m looking for.” “What style rug are you looking for?” He says, “Well, I’m looking for an oriental style rug.” “OK. Uh, you looking for like a lighter color or a darker color? He says,”Lighter color. Something that’ll warm up the room, you know.” And the guy’s thinking for about five minutes. “You know, I think I’ve got something for you.” Brings him into the back, he’s like, “This is a used rug. But this…you might like this one. It’s a Nepali style rug. No no no. They treated it. You know. It’s recleaned everything like that very nice. And, so he looks at it and he really likes it. And he goes, you know he’s like, “Oh! I really like this!” He says, “It’s used. We’re thinking we’re selling it for five hundred euros.” And Sakke says, “Oh, great! five hundred euros! That’s what I wanted to spend.” And I’m thinking, “My god, what are you doing! You know, like if I was there, I would say, “All right, hey uh, that’s used, you know, maybe two hundred and fifty.” Or it’s like try to bargain with the guy a little bit. But Sakke’s like…He’s got this number in his head, and that’s what he wants to spend. You know like that’s that’s where he’ll spend it and the guy happened to say that number, and he’s like…You know. Oof. But, next day, we go, he goes to, he takes me to this thrift shop. He says, “I’m thinking of like getting a leather jacket.” And I find this like kind of red maroon leather jacket, and I’m like, “I think this might look good on you. Give it a try.” And it does. And I’m like, “Oh, you know, yeah, it does look good on you. You just spent five hundred euros on a rug. Why don’t you put this jacket down, you know, sleep on it, come back tomorrow, if it’s still there, then you can get it.” It was only twenty seven euros. But still I’m thinking like back of my head, “You spent five hundred euros a day before. Maybe you know slow down.” You know. I don’t know, I don’t know how much was in the lake anymore. You know. They used a lot. You know. He used a lot. So uh, but he’s like, “Uh, no, no. I’ll buy it today.” So we go upstairs. He goes to the cashier. The cashier says, “OK. Yeah. You know. Leather jacket. Six euros. And I’m thinking, “Oh, wow. She made a f-ing mistake! She thought this leather jacket was from the six euro leather jacket rack, but it actually has the tag, twenty seven euros.” And I’m like…you know thinking “Great! You know it’s like got a little “w” over here.” But I’m thinking, “A day before this guy spends five hundred euros. He could have spent you know a little bit less.” You know but you win some you lose some is the story of that one.



8 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page