top of page
Search
  • Darrow Gershowitz

"Being the Man" I asked Jim, after 16 years away from Japan, what he misses the most.

Updated: May 18, 2021

Jim was one of my main buddies in Tokyo for many years. We played frisbee together. Jim was always on the seat in front of the deejay booth when I was playing sounds. We shared jobs, friends, great meals and numerous stories.


This 2 minute conversation might also be good as a listening exercise for English students.



Transcript:


Hello Jim Hey what’s up Darrow my main my main man there in Tokyo? What’s up, buddy? Sunshine, and I think it’s like mid upper twenties here in Tokyo. Good to see you… Pretty… Nice and toasty. It’s kind of summery. Not too heavy yet, but we’re getting there. Oh! Excuse me! You guys just came out of the rainy season, right? Whoa whoa whoa whoa. Thirty one degrees. Sorry about that. 31. All right. A little steamy. It’s getting a little steamy. Yeah, so, anyway, Jim, how long has it been since you left Japan? How many years? You know, Darrow, it’s been 16 years and…since 2004. And I was wondering, like, what, oh, sorry to interrupt you, sorry. What is it that you would say you, like, really miss about Japan, about not living in Japan after moving back to America, to the West Coast? Right. Well, of course I miss all my friends, and I miss the food, and the entertainment, the trains, and all that stuff. That’s what I…obviously everybody misses that when they move away from a place that they are used to. But what I really, Darrow, what I really miss is being the man. In other words, I had a job teaching English, I would go to a school, I was the main man in the classroom, I had a job, I was um dating my soon-to-be wife in 1996,… So, I had this lifestyle. I’d go and meet you and the other fellows in the park and play frisbee. I really miss that lifestyle. My professional lifestyle as an English teacher. And being the man. That’s what I really miss. Ha, ha, ha, I like that part. Yeah. Uh, all right, man. That is an excellent answer. That’s what I miss. Thanks, Jim. Appreciate that. And uh I don’t think there’s anything to add. All right.

_______________________________________________________________


Being the Man


25 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page